Wednesday, August 31, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday 8.31.2016

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme created by Breaking the Spine to share what books you are waiting to be released on Wednesday’s.

This Wednesday, I think you need to know about It Started with Goodbye by Christina June.  This masterpiece will be published on May 9, 2017.

NetGalley Description
Sixteen-year-old Tatum Elsea is bracing for the worst summer of her life. After being falsely accused of a crime, she’s stuck under stepmother-imposed house arrest and her BFF’s gone ghost. Tatum fills her newfound free time with community service by day and working at her covert graphic design business at night, which includes trading emails with a cute cello-playing client. If Tatum is reading his emails right, her virtual Prince Charming is funny, smart, and talented—and he seems to think the same about her. Too bad he’s spending his summer across the ocean in Ireland…not that Tatum would be allowed to go on a date anyway.
But over the course of the summer, Tatum will learn that sometimes going after what you want means breaking all the rules. And when Tatum discovers she’s not the only one in the house keeping secrets, she finds she has the chance to make amends with her family and friends. Equipped with a new perspective, and assisted by her feisty step-abuela-slash-fairy-godmother, Tatum is ready to start fresh and maybe even get her happy ending along the way. A modern play on the Cinderella story arc, Christina June’s IT STARTED WITH GOODBYE will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen, Stephanie Perkins, and Jennifer E. Smith.

Why I'm Looking Forward to It
Well, this time there are a few reasons.  I try very very hard to act like I don't like romance novels.  I will tell you up and down and left and right that it's too ishy and cheesy.  Well, I lie.  I can seriously feel the heat of the hems of my pants starting on fire right now.  I love that warm ooey gooey feeling when you can feel the romance building between two characters (although erotic novels are a bit much).  The romance in this novel sounds wonderful.  I am very interested in the international relationship and am having a difficult time predicting how this novel will be a modern re-telling of Cinderella.  I mean, what will they use for the shoe?!  MUST KNOW!

I will not lie to you about this, however: I am all about family.  The idea of a family being as separated as the family described here being able to make amends and help each other is something to look forward to.

What do you think of this novel?  Do you think it will be interesting or too ishy squishy?  What novels are you looking forward to this week? Leave your answers as a comment below.

No comments:

Post a Comment